Hello fellow crochet enthusiasts and pattern hoarders!

Posted on

I’ve been meaning to create a blog for quite some time now but I just couldn’t think of anything new that someone else wasn’t already blogging about.  There are plenty of folks out there blogging about the latest project they are working on.  There are quite a few that like to create their own patterns and post them up for others to enjoy.  Although I am continually working on a project of some sort, they come rapid fire.  I work the project, complete it, and it’s on to the next project.  I have regrets about not taking more photos of certain projects.  I didn’t generally take a lot of photos because to be honest, I’m not really the best at photography nor do I particularly enjoy it.  However, in deciding to write this blog, I am going to have to learn to love it just a little.  I’m also not a pattern designer.  Sure, I can pick up a hook and a ball of yarn and whip up a hat or a scarf or the like without a pattern and sometimes I do just that.  But that is where it ends for me.  The item will be a one of a kind because I do not enjoy writing out all the instructions needed to turn it into a pattern.  Call me lazy if you want but I find it much more enjoyable to have a hook and yarn in my hand than sitting there cursing my lack of technical skills when it comes to creating a PDF file for a pattern.

So, I buy crochet patterns.  Lots and lots of crochet patterns.  You could say it is an addiction if you like and if you crochet, you have probably experienced the same addiction.  I have not actually sat down and taken a complete count of all of the patterns I have purchased but at this point I would guess it is somewhere around a few hundred.  I have resisted the need to organize them all into the nice neat little folders I created for them AFTER I realized that my patterns were getting out of hand.  Now I will have to pay for it.  It will take me hours to locate and refile them into one central location on my computer.  I have them in email, I have them in my Ravelry library, I have them in the Downloads file on my computer, I have them in duplicate folders that need to be combined.  You get the idea.

By now you’re thinking, “Just why is she telling me all of these things? What does it have to do with crochet pattern reviews?”  Well, reviewing crochet patterns that I purchase will force me to organize those files and create a document for each pattern to write notes that will help me if I make the pattern again in the future.  It will also force me to take more photos so that progress of a project can be shown and hopefully that will help improve my photography skills (which would improve even more if I would just listen to what hubby says when he tries to show me how to use all the features on the camera!).  Finally, it will provide you, the reader with a little bit of insight on what I,  at least, look for in a pattern – and maybe you look for those same things or have ideas you want to contribute as well.

I also need to tell you this – I am terrified!  I have not been able to find any crochet pattern reviews.  I’ve found sewing pattern reviews, but not crochet pattern reviews.  There may be someone out there doing them and if there is and you know about them, please let me know so I can go check them out.  But perhaps the lack of crochet pattern reviews is due to people being afraid to comment on the design work of others.  Surely I’m not the first person in the world to think of reviewing crochet patterns in a blog?!  So, maybe I’m taking a huge gamble here.  Maybe I’m opening a can of worms that should just stay sealed in the can but anyone that personally knows me will tell you that I’m not one to back down from a challenge – well, most of the time anyway.

In closing this first blog post let me tell you what I plan to enforce upon myself for reviewing crochet patterns – a focus on the positive aspects of the pattern, first and foremost, then a thought on what I’d like to see added to make the pattern more user friendly, and finally a number rating based on several criteria which I will post in my next rambling.  I want this to be a positive experience for me and the designer, should they stumble upon the review.  I will not allow myself or others to talk poorly of a designer.  We can all use constructive criticism but none of us need to endure destructive criticism.  Hopefully a designer can read my review and also the thoughts of others and use that to implement new ideas or fix problems so that they benefit from the review.

In my next posting I will be providing you with the criteria by which I plan to review.  I am hoping that you will contribute as well by telling me what you look for in a good pattern.  You will probably give me  a few ideas that I haven’t thought of yet.  Until next time, get your crochet on!

5 responses »

  1. I am REALLY looking forward to seeing more entries here! I’m excited to see more information about the GOOD designers!(I swear if there is a bad one out there, I will find them). I would rather save time and money and support those who take the time to ensure their patterns are well written and tested. I will be patiently awaiting the next post 🙂

    Reply
  2. Looking forward to reading your reviews. I have a few patterns out there, and have only gotten an occasional piece of feedback. I would love to know what people think of my patterns. 🙂
    I am curious as to how you will catagorize the reviews. Will you go by designer, type of pattern (hats, clothing, etc). In any event, any way will be great.

    Reply
    • Thank you for dropping in Carolyn! You bring up a good question about how I will categorize the reviews. My first thought was that I was just going to make a list of patterns that I’ve bought and really want to make and then just start reviewing them as I complete them. However, I believe it will be easier for someone to find a particular review if I utilize the categories feature of the blog so thank you bringing that to my attention. 🙂 I will categorize by type of item, ie: hat, diaper cover, etc., since I don’t want to focus heavily on any one designer. One can generally get the feel for a designer’s style by purchasing just one or two of their patterns and I really don’t want it to feel like I’m reviewing just the actual designer but rather mainly their patterns with just a small portion of it being their customer service.

      I checked to see what patterns you sell and I do not have any of your patterns. However, my photographer sent me a link to your little military hat pattern and asked me if I would make that one for her prop collection so I’m sure that as soon as I get through my backlog of orders, I will be purchasing that one from you. I will be happy to add you to my list to review and hope that you will find it useful in helping generate feedback. By the way, your cowboy and cowgirl set is absolutely adorable! I’m sorely tempted because I don’t have a cowgirl pattern in my collection. See, that is what got me in trouble in the first place with all of these hundreds of patterns I own. LOL 🙂

      Reply
      • Thanks so much for your kind words about my patterns. My Marine’s Dress Blues hat is quite popular and I’ve had several people send me photos of their completed hat. 🙂 I’ve had quite a good response from the cowboy & cowgirl set, but no real feedback except for one person who loved the diaper cover. I know what you mean about having hundreds of patterns and still wanting to buy more….LOL

  3. I think this is a wonderful idea!
    It takes a courage that I don’t have, because I must confess – I don’t follow patterns 🙂 All my work is one of a kind, although some articles that sell well I know off by heart. I have however been asked to make the pattern for some items, and I discovered it’s incredibly hard to do! I have certainly reconsidered my opinion on the cost of patterns, they take effort, time, concentration. You have to go through them a dozen times to make sure there are no mistakes, that they’re clear enough, take loads of photos… and be there to all who may need assistance. I made my first one yesterday and am preparing another, but it will be a long time before I’ll consider myself a real pattern creator.
    I’ll certainly be keeping an eye on your blog:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Three J Q Designs

"...and if the band you're in starts playing different tunes, I'll see you on the dark side of the moon"

crochetedcouture.com & micheleproducts.ETSY.com

crochet is not just for grandma anymore!

By Hook or By Pen

Adventures in Yarn and Art

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

Jonah said/Ben said

Quotes from my sons, for your entertainment.

JM Randolph, accidentalstepmom

adventures in half-assed stepparenting

ZukkaBlu

Crochet

solarpyxie

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

thiscraftymomma

Just another WordPress.com site

Crochet with Raymond

The mad adventures of a lesbi@n hooker and her siamese cat!

